HOME　＞　Users Guide

The Medical Library has restarted its service in a limited way from July 29, 2020.

Users Guide

Library Calendar　　 Campus Map　　 Access Map (See Hongo Campus)

Open Hours

	Mon. - Fri.	Sat.
during the term	8:30am - 8:00pm	10:00am - 5:00pm
during summer and winter vacations	8:30am - 5:00pm	10:00am - 5:00pm

Mon. - Sat.　Anybody can use our library.
*Service Hours on weekdays: Members=8:45am-, Non-members=9:00am-
Those not affiliated with the University of Tokyo : please fill in an application of one-day free pass.

Closed

Sundays, National Holidays, New Year Holidays (28 Dec.-4 Jan.) , during the university entrance examination, the last weekday of every month.

Service Hours　*members only

Services		Mon. - Fri.	Mon. - Fri. during summer & winter vacations	Sat.
User Registration		8:45am - 5:00pm	8:45am - 5:00pm	×
Check out/Return		8:45am - 8:00pm	8:45am - 5:00pm	10:00am - 5:00pm
Document Delivery Services, Pay PDF charge, Interlibrary loan	Charge covered by the department, etc.	8:45am - 8:00pm	8:45am - 5:00pm	10:00am - 5:00pm
	Charge on individual (cash*)	8:45am - 7:30pm	8:45am - 4:45pm	10:00am - 4:45pm
Order books in closed stacks	Rare books, etc.	8:45am - 4:00pm	8:45am - 4:00pm	×
	Dissertations and Historical materials of Facurty of Medicine	8:45am - 7:00pm	8:45am - 4:00pm	10:00am - 4:00pm

*We have no change. Please have the exact amount ready.

Access

UTokyo members

• Persons bearing
  　・A Student ID (IC card type)
  　・A University ID Card (IC card type)
  　・Library Pass (IC card type / barcode type)
  may enter the library automatically.
• If you do not have a University ID Card and you want to be issued:
  　・If you are affiliated with the Faculty of Medicine, please ask to issue a University ID Card at SOMU TANTO.
  　・If you work or research at the University Hospital, please ask to issue a University ID Card at SOMUKA KIKAKU TEAM (ext.32220).
• If you don't want a University ID Card:
  To the Faculty members, a library pass can be issued at the library counter.
  Please print and fill out this application form (PDF), and hand it to the library staff. At the same time, we need to see a document that proves you are on the register in The University of Tokyo.
• With an invalid card, the bar will not move. Please report to the library staff then.

Alumni

• Persons bearing a library Pass (barcode type) may enter the library automatically.
• If you are a graduate of Department of Medicine, without a library pass, the medical library issues a library pass.
• With an invalid card, the bar will not move. Please report to the library staff then.

Non-members

Medical Library welcomes the use of its collections by researchers not affiliated with the University of Tokyo.

• You must report to the circulation desk when you enter the library. We'll issue a visitor pass for you. That pass is valid only for a day.
• Visitors are asked to introduce themselves at the circulation desk by signing the visitor card each time they use the library.

Search

Library catalogs

• University of Tokyo OPAC
  A system for searching the online union catalog database of books and journals held in the University of Tokyo.
• CiNii Books
  Database provided by the NII, covering the catalogs of university libraries and other institutions across Japan.
• NDL-OPAC
  Searching for books and journal articles held at the National Diet Library in Japan.

Databases　*members only

• TREE
  This integrated search platform allows you to search across a wide range of electronic journals, books and databases available at UTokyo. Articles can be searched by keyword. Includes link to full-text articles the availability depends on subscription at UTokyo.
• E-journal & E-book Portal
  This is a gateway to search e-journals and e-books available at UTokyo. You search by using the title of a journal/book and this produces a list of results grouped by database. Clicking on a database name takes you to its top page.
• Literacy
  The Literacy portal site provides exactly the right environment to explore the entire range of academic resources available online. It covers almost every database available at UTokyo and also features information on database training courses, as well as education materials on information literacy.

Databases　*members only

Borrowing　*members only

	period	number	renewals
Books	2 weeks	5	three times (1 week / time)
ＡＶ materials	2 weeks	5	once (1 week / time)
Periodicals	1 day	10	not available

• UTokyo faculty, staff, and students may apply for borrowing privileges at the UTokyo libraries.
• When you borrow unbound periodicals, please fill in an application. The following materials do not circulate. : reference materials, doctoral dissertations, rare books, etc.
• If you keep a book beyond the due date, your borrowing privileges will be suspended for up to one week.

Renewing Book Loans

Please go to MyOPAC and renew book loan from "Check Status of Loan" menu.
You can also renew your book loan at the library information desk.
Cases when the loan period cannot be extended:

• Periodicals
• Someone else has reserved the book
• The book is already overdue/during the suspension period of your borrowing privilege

Book return

• Return books to the information desk.
• When the library is closed, please use the book drop on the left side of the main entrance.

Copying Services

Copy Fees
Black and White	10 yen per page
Color	50 yen per page

• Coin-operated photocopying machines are available for self-service use on 1F.
• Copies can be made only in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright Law.
• The following materials are prohibited from photocopying : Rare books, Collections, Doctoral dissertations, etc.

Reading Room　

Floor map

ALTIUS　　(1F / Books, Periodicals)

• Books (display at OPAC "Med.Lib.Read.R")
• Reference books (new edition)
• New arrival periodicals (latest 2 years)

PLENIUS　　(1F / Multimedia Corner)*members only

See: Multimedia Corner

Wireless LAN　*members only

Wireless access points allow computers to access the network in Medical Library.
An additional registration procedure is necessary to access wireless services.
See: UTokyo WiFi

Open Stacks

Multimedia Corner　*members only

There are PCs (Mac/Win), printers, scanners, etc. Please use for research and education.

Eligibility for use

The following members of the University of Tokyo have privilege to use the Multimedia corner ： Affiliated Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the University of Tokyo Hospital. (include professor emeritus, former faculty and alumni.)

Library Services　*members only

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan Services

If you did not find the information you were looking for, please use “Interlibrary Loan” for assistance in obtaining it from another library. Interlibrary loans can be used to obtain material from another University of Tokyo Library or from other libraries.
Please search these catalogs before you order.

• The University of Tokyo OPAC
• E-journal & E-book portal

MyOPAC service

Link to the MyOPAC service appears at the top of OPAC screen.
The following services are available.

• checking your status concerning borrowed and reserved materials
• requesting a loan renewal
• canceling a reservation
• requesting copies of a material *
• requesting the purchase of a material, etc.

*You must complete a registration procedure in order to use this service.

PDF Service

The electronic document delivery system allows users to order documents online and view them on a computer screen. This service considerably shortens the time needed to access articles from journals held at the Library. Copy fees (for individual charges) are to be paid according to your home library’s instructions. (Medical Library support this service.)
　This icon is the logo for the PDF service.
*You must complete a registration procedure in order to use this service. Please print and fill out this application form(PDF), and hand it to the library staff.

ASK Service

This service allows you to forward your inquiries to a library through the internet.
ASK is a library reference service for members of the University of Tokyo. Answers are usually provided by E-mail.

Contact

	Section	Ext.	TEL(DI)	E-mail
Information Desk	Information service office	23667	03-5841-3667
Document Delivery Services (interlibrary loan)		23660 23669	03-5841-3660
Reference		ASK Service　　(for UTokyo members)
Donating periodicals	Acquisition office	23663	03-5841-3663
Donating books Book Purchase Request		23662	03-5841-3662
Purchasing the past questions for entrance examinations of Graduate School of Medicine	The Tokyo Society of Medical Sciences	23681	03-5841-3681
Others	Information service office	23667	03-5841-3667